Portable Cuddles

I grew up lugging a sausage pillow around with me everywhere.

Pillow, as it is aptly named, has been with me in all my travels up until I turned 18. I have had it since I was a baby (it was bought in the excitement of the anticipation of my birth) and it has been my bedtime guardian almost every night since.

The stuffing inside has long shrunk to a mere quarter of what it originally was, and the pillowcase now (actually for years now) looks like a rug.*

*It is important to understand that the pillow goes with the original pillowcase and nothing else.

So, in May 2015, I made the decision to trade the pillow for something less (?) embarrassing.

I fell in love with Fluffy Cheetah the moment I laid eyes on him at The Teddy Bear Shop in Melbourne. He was too cute to be stuck there on a shelf, deprived of cuddles and the warmth of human companionship. So I adopted him.

It hasn’t even been a year since, but he has seen so much of the world already.

It’s sad/embarrassing to admit that his leaving Australia for a taste of the world started with him almost getting lost at Suvarnabhumi International Airport in Bangkok. The short embarrassing story? I bought ice cream, put him on the floor in front of the counter when I reached out for my wallet to pay for it, and left him there while I sat and ate in heavenly peace. The panic and fear afterwards was enough apology I would say, and I have always kept an eye on the little guy since.

He has been my cuddling buddy through the toughest and loneliest times, and the subject of my attempts at taking portraits. Also, as a person who either travels alone or with someone who takes terrible photos, and as a person who rarely gets a decent photo of myself taken by someone else, Fluffy Cheetah has become my stand-in.

So let me introduce to you, my little fluffy friend in some of his adventures.

 

 

Leave a Reply

